The Planetary CubeSats Symposium, June 27-28 2019

An activity of Goddard’s Planetary Cubesat Science Institute (PCSI)

The Planetary CubeSats/Smallsats Symposiums are held annually at NASA's Goddard Space Flight Center, with the participation of CubeSat scientists and developers. Discussions include current missions, mission concepts, and opportunities for future mission selections. The sessions also include panel discussions about strategic and technical aspects of planetary CubeSats, and an afternoon poster session provides mission proposers the opportunity to meet with vendors and suppliers.


Please register to attend the symposium
Abstract deadline April/19 and registration deadline May/15

Name (Last, First MI):


Email address:

Abstract title (enter n/a for guest):

For presentations, please upload your full abstract information here.
Day 1:       Day 2:       Dinner:  
Active NASA badge:       US-citizen/Green-card:  

Oral talks

Oral talks are all 15/20 mins in length except where otherwise indicated in the program. A laptop computer will be provided for presentations. Presenters will not be permitted to use their own computers to present, to avoid lengthy hand-overs between talks, unless exception circumstances apply. If you need to use your own computer (e.g. due to a need for custom display software) please contact the organizers – your talk may be moved to the end of the session in this case. Please bring your talk on a USB memory stick to the front of the room between 8:00-8:30 am for uploading and checking/testing, or preferably send by e-mail the day before to Presentations should be designed either as PowerPoint (PPTX), or provided as PDF files if designed using other software. After the event, talks will be uploaded to the website, unless the presenter requests otherwise. Speakers will be given 12 mins for each talk, followed by 3 mins for changeover. Questions will be taken at the end of each session.


Posters will be presented on a 36"x48" format. Poster presenters who are requesting a table to show hardware or set-up a laptop, and/or electrical connections, should e-mail to make arrangements a week before the conference.

Remote participation

The meeting will be broadcasted online via ''. The presentations will be also recorded, and attendees are encouraged to discuss with the speakers during the breaks if they have requests for electronic copies of any presented materials. Photography of posters must be with permission of the poster presenter.
Remote video-conference access


Plan to arrive at the Badge Pickup point (Visitor Center) between 730 and 800 AM if you are a visitor and collecting a badge. Park in the visitor lot and proceed inside the reception building to collect your badge. Photo ID is required for US citizens and non-citizens. Green-card holders should also bring their green-cards. The Symposium is taking place in the building 34 Auditorium (B34-W150, first floor, see map). After collecting your badge you can return to your car and drive to Building 34, showing your badge and photo ID to the guard at the gate. Park in any nearby parking lot (see map), except for marked reserved or disabled spaces. Coffee will be available prior to the start of the Symposium at 8:00-8:30 outside the room.

Previous Symposiums

The 1st Goddard CubeSats Symposium (2016)
The 2nd Goddard CubeSats Symposium (2017)
The 3rd Goddard CubeSats Symposium (2018)

Organizing committee

Scott Guzewich (chair)
Lauren Blum
Barbara Cohen
Gina DiBraccio
David Folta
Colby Goodle
Tilak Hewagama
Michael Johnson
Brook Lakew
Conor Nixon
Timothy Stubbs
Geronimo Villanueva